12 Life Lessons from my hard times at the hospital last year

Lessons learned the hard way !

Juste found the notebook in which I had put down ideas and thoughts during my hospitalization, 1 year ago (to the day). 

It's good to be reminded of life's lessons, especially when they're linked to difficult times that are so necessary for our growth.

We tend to forget! 

A year later, I'm exercising 3 hours a day, I've regained my physical and mental health, I've published a book and I'm writing the next one this summer, I'm preparing a speaking tour and I've created a new brand. I'm not at all the same in terms of my state of mind and peace.

In short, you have to know how to bounce back. These experiences, if we're lucky enough that they just slap us in the face without finishing us off, make us evolve on every level. 

I hadn't reread these notes since, so here's a quick summary of what's come out, which gave me a "reminder" slap in the face:

- If we experience the same thing several times, it's because there's a lesson to be learned. 

- We tend to be nostalgic for the "good old days", but let's not forget that we'll be nostalgic for today, 10 - 20 years from now. Good times are now!

- When it comes to good times, we sometimes have to lose important things (like our health), to realize how lucky we are when "everything's going well". We tend to look for problems instead of being grateful. Gratitude allows us to appreciate everything we have. Without it, we remain empty and frustrated...

- Money comes and goes, and we can always earn it, but there are some things that don't come back when they go: time, moments, loved ones...

- We're all so preoccupied with ourselves that we overestimate the importance of other people's judgments of us. Let's live without worrying about it.

- Asking for help is a strength! I've always been ashamed of asking for help: I've wasted so much time!

- We're neither late nor early, life isn't a race. There's no point in comparing ourselves, we all have our own timeline.

- I've spent too much time worrying about the future and uncertainty, when everything is always just right.

- We can quickly get lost in our priorities, in life, strangely enough we become aware of them when "things go wrong": What counts at these moments: our entourage, our best memories and experiences, our capacity for adaptation and resilience. The priorities are there...

- Nothing must come before our values, integrity and health (mental, physical and spiritual). That kind of sacrifice is never worth it and will cost much more (there's no ROI).

- Failures, hard knocks, starting from scratch... In the end, the most important thing is to keep moving forward. 

- As long as you're alive, you've got a mission to accomplish, a life to live!

Move on!